index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Annual Awards for 2016/2017

The Four Seasons Hotel was the setting for the presentation of the Annual Awards by Blackwater Steelers basketball club. It was a terrific year for the club with two All-Ireland titles coming their way and even though it is only their first year in the North East League they have proven that they are a match for the best. Reports on the two wins can be accessed HERE but they were given further exposure at the Awards night. However all eight teams entered in competition this year had winners and the youth academy for the players of the future were mentioned and thanks was directed at those responsible for running the training and games for the huge number of young boys and girls who attend. The coaches for the various teams summarised the year for each age group and then announced the winners of the Most Improved Player(MIP) and the Most Valued Player (MVP) during the past year. There to present them with their awards was Gregory Devlin, Marketing Manager at Silver Hill Farm, the main sponsors of the Blackwater Steelers. Sean Gallagher, chairman of the club, gave an overview of the year's activity, which was a very busy and demanding one, and expressed thanks to all involved. Going forward, he stated, the club needs more coaches as there are so  many young people wanting to play the game but coaches are badly needed to take extra teams. He had great praise for the parents who supported the club throughout the year in so many ways and urged other parents to get involved. You can hear an interview with Sean by clicking his image below. Delma Mulligan, Tommy O'Connor, Sean Ó Mairtín, all expressed appreciation to assistants - Deirdre Smyth, Fionnuala Gallagher, Brenda Trainor, Valerie Ross, Tegan McCormack, Fiona Boyd, Kellie McCabe. The parents and teams showed their appreciation by making presentations to coaches. The winners were: U12 Girls - MIP = Gormlaith MacConghail, MVP = Katie Trainor; U12 Boys - MIP = Fionán Ó Gallchoir, MVP = Cian Murphy; U14 Girls - MIP = Alex McKenna, MVP = Ava Ross;  U14 Boys - MIP = Kacper Ostrowski, MVP = Rio Corrigan; U16 Girls - MIP = Lara Ó Mairtín,  MVP = Alex Mulligan; U16 Boys - MIP = Sebastiaglis,  MVP = Karl Gallagher;  U18 Girls - MVP = Amy Mulligan; U18 Boys - MVP = Killian McAdam. After the presentations there were refreshments and this was followed by a Disco to the music supplied by DJ Sean.

sean gallagher.mp3

Click on the image of Sean Gallagher, Chairman of the Blackwater Steelers Basketball club, on right here to hear a short interview with him.