index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Glaslough Harriers Awards Night 2017

Glaslough Harriers held their second annual club night in Castle Leslie on Friday 9th February 2018. It was a great night with a very large turnout. The night was open to all club members  and it was a great success.  It was a chance to recognize all our athletes achievements in 2017. Also a lot of the younger athletes were recognized for their participation in different events. We also had in attendance, Sammy Leslie who is now Honorary President of the Club, having taken over from the late Sir Jack Leslie. She presented the awards on the night along with Noel Kennedy, chief coach.  We also made a special presentation to Geraldine McAree, who has been a mainstay within the club for 17 years.  Amy Hamill made a very heartfelt speech on how influential Geraldine has been on her career to date. We also thank Fr Corrigan for attending also and wishing Geraldine all the best in her future en devours. Geraldine thanked everyone and stated how proud she was of her involvement with Glaslough Harriers. She was given a standing ovation by the large attendance. It was a great night and we also wish to thank Castle Leslie, Sammy Leslie, Brian Baldwin and all the staff of the Castle for the great night.
Athletes who achieved at All Ireland level were honoured: Owen McNally, Christopher Mc Gurk, Amy Hamill, Conor Duffy, Emma Geary, Ava Ross, Aobhin McCormack, Liam McKenna, James McQuaid, Matthew Finn
Provincial winners in Ulster were also honoured: Rachel Callery, Ava Callery, Eoghan McCaul, Darren McAnespie, Eoin McKenna, Eimear McColgan, Aimee Brennan, Karl McKenna, Emily Brennan, Harry Murphy, Adam McCarey, Dervla Cawley, Kaylin Geary, Jack Murphy, Matthew Connoly and Luke Cawley. There was a Certificate awarded to all who participated in the Club during the past year: Masey Murphy,  Ava McCaul,  Shay Cawley, Thomas OH Geary,  Rylan McCooey, Callum Ross, Odhan Kelly, Annie Rose Connolly, Conor McMeel, Darragh McMeel, Cora McGarey, Grace Murphy, Ella Marie McGarvey, Grace McGarvey, Ryan McArdle, Clodagh McColgan, Emma McMahon, Aoibhe Kelly, Odhran Kelly, Niamh Kelly, Alex Treanor, Darragh McMahon, Casey – Lee Hughes, Conor McMeel, Aidan Cunningham, Annie–Rose Connolly and James Cunninghan. Emma Tierney, Darragh Tierney, Shauna Wals, Andrew Walsh, Slaine McKenna, Adam Treanor, Darren McAnespie, Cathan Nesbitt, Ryan McArdle, Ella McArdle, Paddy Mulligan, Sorcha McKenna, Niamh Kelly, Ella Connolly, Tristan Murphy, Darragh McMeel, Katie Treanor and Ayla Power.



Holding this event in Castle Leslie was a great idea as it is a marvellous setting and for some perhaps the first time they attended a function in the Castle. Add to that the fabulous food served up and the wonderful hospitality led by Sammy herself and you cannot but have a wonderful night.

Welldone to Sammy and her staff for the excellent attention given and well done to the organisers for a job well done.