index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Comhaltas Baile Mhuineacháin Celebrates

Comhaltas Baile Mhuineacháin held a presentation event in St. Joseph's Pastoral Centre on Friday night, October 20th to celebrate the success of the members of the Monaghan Town Comhaltas Branch in the County, Ulster and All-Ireland Fleadh. In attendance to present the All-Ireland and Ulster medals was Minister Heather Humphreys.  Eleanor Gilsenan was Master of Ceremonies for the occasion and she called on Mary McCabe, founder member and chairperson of the Branch to address the gathering of members and their families. Mary gave a brief history of the Branch and its achievements and thanked all those responsible for the successes of the members. She welcomed the Minister and expressed appreciation for her attendance. Then each of the winners performed for the audeince before the Minister presented them with their medals. First up was the U12 Band which came 2nd in Ulster; This was followed by an Irish Recitation by Connie Corrigan, which won her a 3rd place; Next came the U15 Band which finished 3rd in Ulster. Oisin Reilly gave a fine performance on the Banjo, accompanied by Killian McCabe on guitar. and Oisin won two 1st - in Banjo and Mandolin at All-Ireland. The U18 Band was the final act and again they were winners. The Minister then addressed the crowd and congratulated all the winners and thanked them for a very enjoyable night of top class entertainment. She praised the work of the committee and the tutors for their work and she thanked the parents for their support of their children. She encouraged the children to continue with their music and to develop their talents as best they can as music brings many benefits. Presentations of Flowers were then made to the Minister and to Maggie Maguire, music tutor. To conclude photos of the various groups and individuals were taken and all enjoyed a very tasty supper.


Above is a picture of members who were participants in Fleadh with some success up to Ulster level.

To the left is the committee with the Minister and Senator Robbie Gallagher - seated Mary McCabe and Sean Lennon. Back row - Eleanor Gilsenan, Geraldine O'Riordan, Claudine Marron, Mairead Corrigan and Jackie Reilly.