index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Entente Florale in Glaslough

Glaslough in the Village section, along with Abbeyleix in the town section, has been selected to represent Ireland in the Entente Florale competition for 2017. This competition is organised by ” Association Européenne du Fleurissement et du Paysage” (A.E.F.P.), which is an international non-profit association, and its overall aims are to promote a greener and more pleasant environment in European towns and villages and to facilitate international contacts among the participants, based on reference towns and villages network. Public authorities, private bodies and individuals are encouraged to cooperate in beautifying their towns and villages thereby improving the quality of life for both inhabitants and visitors, by the planting of flowers and shrubs, by the development and maintenance of green spaces and parks and by generally fostering development which is ecologically and environmentally sensitive. On Wednesday March 8th the Entente Florale flag was handed over to the Glaslough organisers at a public meeting in the Oakland Centre.

The evening began with two songs from the children of St. Mary's National School, who are very involved in the Tidy Towns work for Glaslough. Gareth Corrigan was Master of Ceremonies and he introduced the various speakers after the Flag had been handed over to Alexandra Kendrick and Mayor of Glaslough, Ann McGee. The speakers included Ann McGee, who extended a warm welcome to all; Cllr P.J. O'Hanlon, Mayor of Monaghan County Council; Cllr. David Maxwell, Chairman of Monaghan Municipal District; and apologies were received from Eamonn O'Sullivan, CEO of Monaghan County Council, and Paul Clifford, Director of Services spoke in place of the CEO.

The Councillors and Officials stated that Monaghan County would support the Glaslough effort in whatever way they could and they congratulated Glaslough on achieving such recognition by being selected for this highly prestigious competition.  Others present included Cllr Paudge Connolly, Cllr Raymond Aughey, Cllr Sean Conlon, Cllr Seamus Treanor and Senator Robbie Gallagher, Donal McElwain, Monaghan Municipal Co-ordinator, and Carol Lambe, Monaghan County Council Community Development Officer

Then Eamonn de Stafort and Dr. Christy Boylan, both European Adjudicators and Mentors of the competition, gave a detailed over view of the competition and what is demanded from each participating town or village. They described the adjudication process and wished Glaslough every success. Patricia Murphy Thom and Carol Lambe then presented a gifts to Eamonn and Christy. Finally Louise McGee thanked all for their participation and highlighted some of the projects in train and those in the planning stages which the committee hopes to progress for the competition. Refreshments were served to all.The competition is open to all countries in the EU. There are three categories, every member country can put forward 2 entries from two different categories. There are 9 Countries in this year’s competition. These are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Germany, Netherlands and Slovenia. The awards based on overall marks achieved, range from bronze, silver or gold plaques. There are ten heading uder which the adjudication will take place - 1. Planning and Development 2.  Natural Environment  3  Built Environment  4  Landscapes  5  Green Spaces  6.  Planting  7  Enviironnmental Education  8  Effort and Involvement  9  Tourism and Leisure  10.  Presentation.  The Adjudication day for Glaslough is 6th July 2017 at 9am.This is a terrific achievement and a fantastic honour for Glaslough and due recognition for the work they have done over the years for Tidy Towns. Paddy and Alice Connolly put the first Glaslough Tidy Towns in action back in 1966 and rewards came in 1978 when Glaslough won the All-Ireland title. Here is another opportunity for the people of the area to get behind the organising committee and help Glaslough achieve the targets necessary for this competition and bring further honours to the Village. We wish them every success.


Judging;     Homecoming;     Civic Reception.