index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Hill Climb 2016

The club held our annual Hill Climb on Sunday morning last. The youth cyclists signed on at George's Shop from 9.00am and they had their hill climb/time trail starting at Pete Mc Kenna's junction and up the hill at Derrygasson. The lads all then went back to the shop for the prize-giving and refreshments. Eoghan Flood won the hill climb with Caolan McKenna 2nd and Ben O'Reilly 3rd.

The prizes where also given for the racing league that had been running every Sunday since the end of the summer. Caolan McKenna was awarded 1st, Fintan Duffy 2nd and Nathan Mohan 3rd. All the youths who took part in both events got trophies and/or medals.

Well done everyone and special thanks to Tommy McCague and Micky McKenna for organising the events on Sunday. Thanks to Ann Marie McCarron for arranging the refreshments and sign on at the shop . The adults started to arrive shortly after the youths were finished .

Almost 60 riders signed on including a few visitors from Armagh and Crossmaglen, Clogher Valley Wheelers and a large number from our neighbouring club Killylough. They headed off by Aughnacloy and the touring group tackled the climb first. The racing group was next a few minutes later. Kevin Treanor came first in the touring group with Conal Duffy and James McKinney 2nd and 3rd. Ellen McElroy was first lady, followed by Ann Marie Duffy and Ann Tolan.

Patrick J McKenna won the racing group, with Darren Duffy 2nd and Martin Sherry 3rd. Sharon McKenna was 1st lady followed by Lorraine Mullarkey.