index Development History Clubs Comments Archives Links
silver hill

Monaghan Motor Club Awards Night 2017

To avoid clashes with other motoring events Monaghan Motor Club decided to hold their 2017 Annual Awards Night on Friday October 21st instead of the usual end of November but unfortunately they clashes with the Tarmac Championships Awards in Cork, at which Monaghan featured highly, and also a Mini-stages Rally also in the south and these meant that many of the usual people at the Monaghan Awards Night were unavoidably absent, including the winner of the Monaghan Stages Rally, Sam Moffett, who was also a winner of in the Tarmac competition. However the Monaghan event was in the Four Seasons Hotel, which is now sponsor of the Motor Club after a break of a few years. There was a good crowd at the function and all enjoyed a very tasty meal before the presentation of prizes. The number of prizes to be presented was reduced this year as many of the awards were presented on the day of the competition. The full list of winners for 2017 is below and photos of those present to collect their awards. There was also a presentation made to Paul Hughes to recognise the huge contribution he has made to Monaghan Motor Club over a great number of years. Chairman of the Club, Conor Maguire, welcomed all, thanked everyone who had an input to the successes of 2017, congratulated all the winners and had special mention and congratulations for Sam Moffett on his record breaking achievements this year by winning Four Major Championships in the same year. He also highlighted the huge input of Marshals in the club both for the Club's own events and assisting neighbouring clubs for their events. He also thanked neighbouring clubs for their assistance during the year too, without which it would be difficult to run so many events. He particularly thanked Brendan Flynn and Ronnie Hawe for their work in preparing for the Awards night. The Big Award as always for members of Monaghan Motor Club is the Club Championship and for the second year running the winner, and a worthy winner, was Martin Tynan, who thanked the club and his navigator, Fintan Clerkin. The night concluded with music and dancing and plenty of chat.

Monaghan Motor Club Awards 2017

January Navigation
COC – Eoghan Corr; Overall – Michael Tynan, Ciaran Tynan
Autotest Trials
COC – Brendan Flynn; Club Class – Kieran McCarra
March Navigation
COC – Sean McCaffrey; Overall – Mac Kierans, Conor Boylan.
Monaghan Stages Rally
COC – Thomas Treanor; Overall – Sam Moffett, Karl Atkinson.
Perpetual Cups
Maguire International Cup – Sam Moffett, Karl Atkinson>
Keenan Stainless Steel Cup – Raymond Conlon, Darren McCague
Squealing Pig Cup – David Moffett, Martin Connolly.
JG Kelly Supplies Cup – Anthony Hand. Peter Deery
McElvaney Cup – Shane Maguire, Darragh Kelly.
COC – Shane Maguire; Overall – John McGetrick; Overall Club – Martin Tynan
Endurance Event
COC – Fintan Keenan; Overall – Derek Mackarel, Kieran McGorman. 1st Club – Derek Mackarel, Richard Cassidy.
October Club Navigation
COC – Shane Farrell; Overall – Martin Tynan, Fintan Clerkin.
Gary Nesbitt Club Championship
5th Michael Carbin, Shane Murphy
4th David Dixon, Abraham Dixon
3rd Emmet McCooey, Christopher Mcmahon
2nd Aaron Dixon, Dylan Lennon
1st Donal McArdle, Killian McArdle
5th Caolan Treanor, Craig McPhillips
4th Mark Sheridan, Alan Cullinan
3rd Cathal McGlone, Michael Sheridan
2nd Colm Mohan, Conor Mohan
1st Aiden Sherry, Oisin Sherlock
3rd Jack McKenna, Andrew Wedlock
2nd Kevin McCormack, David McCrudden
1st Mac Kierans, Conor Boylan
3rd Richard Cassidy, Paul Keenan
2nd Michael Tynan, Ciaran Tynan
1st Ashley McAdoo, Laurence Keenan
Overall Club Champions – Gary Nesbitt Cup: Martin Tynan, Fintan Clerkin

Ladies Award – Pamela McMahon
Novice Navigator – Oisin Sherlock

Overall Club Champion – Martin Tynan